Language: English

Visa Information

   (Updated on April 1, 2012)
All visitors wishing to enter the United Republic of Tanzania must obtain an appropriate visa, except citizens of the listed nations below, provided they are travelling on a valid national passport:

  • Botswana, Burundi
  • Gambia, Ghana
  • Hong Kong
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi, Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Rwanda
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • Nationals of the East African community need neither visas nor entry permits to enter the United Republic of Tanzania.

If you are not a citizen of any of the above countries, either a regular entry visa or a Referred visa is required. Please read below to find out more about Referred visas. To find out the full procedure and requirements for obtaining a visa, please refer to the second page of the visa application form.

Please note that a one-year multiple-entry visa is required for citizens of Ireland, and the United States of America. For other visa applicants, one can apply for either a single-entry, double-entry, or a multiple-entry visa (except Referred Visa applicants, whereby regular single-entry visa rates apply).

Visitors from countries where Tanzania has a Diplomatic or Consular representation are strongly advised to obtain a visa from the Tanzanian Mission before departure. All other visitors may obtain a visa at any of the following entry points.
  • Dar es Salaam, Zanzibar, Kilimanjaro and Mwanza airports.
  • Holili, Horohoro, Kabanga, Kigoma, Masuguru, Msimbati, Mutukula/Kyaka, Namanga, Rusumo, Sirari, and Tunduma border crossings.

Referred Visas:
There are special visa regulations called a Referred Visa that apply ONLY to refugees, stateless persons, holders of Travel Documents, holders of Certificates of Identity, and passport holders of the following nations:
  • Abkhazia, Afghanistan, Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Chad
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Lebanon
  • Mali, Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Palestine State
  • Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sri Lanka
  • Tajikstan, Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan

In this category, the visa applicant is advised to submit their application to the High Commission at least two months before their travel date, along with a contact name and number in Tanzania (preferably someone in Dar es Salaam). The High Commission also requires their Canadian resident status information (PR Card ID No. & date of issue, for example). Only a single-entry visa can be issued in this category. For all other visa applicants who do not fall under this category, nor under the list of visa exemptions mentioned earlier, the regular visa procedure applies.

Visa Application Form for All Categories

Click here to download...

Visa Application Form

To obtain visa requirements, please refer to second page of the Visa Application Form (click here to download). Once application is fully complete, submit by courier or in person to:

The Tanzania High Commission
Attention: Visa Department
50 Range Road
Ottawa, Ontario
Canada. K1N 8J4

The Visa Department is opened from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. Allow five business days for visas to be Processed.

Please note that once a visa has been issued, it is non-refundable. If a visa expires before it has been utilized, one must then submit a new application and repeat the whole process from the beginning. Also note that the granting of a Tanzanian visa is in effect only a form of pre-entry clearance. It does not guarantee permission to enter Tanzania. The Immigration Officer at the point of entry reserves the right to grant or deny admission. Visa holders are subject to normal immigration control at the point of entry. They should therefore carry with them, for possible presentation to immigration officers, the documents submitted with their applications.

For more information, please contact the Visa Department.
Tel: (613) 232-1509 x26